End of Term of Two Park Board Commissioners

Iconic eden park gazebo in front of mirror lake in summer

End of Term of Two Park Board Commissioners

December 15, 2016

Contact: Jackie Binford
(513) 357-2619

End of Term of Two Cincinnati Park Board Commissioners

What: Park Board Commissioners’ End of Term Acknowledgement

When: December 15, 2016

At the monthly Cincinnati Park Board meeting, held on December 15, 2016, Mrs. Merri Gaither Smith, who served as Vice President, was honored and celebrated for her 12 years of dedicated service to the Cincinnati Park Board. Mrs. Gaither Smith submitted her notice to Mayor John Cranley in October and stated she would not seek an additional term.

Mrs. Gaither Smith was recognized and thanked by her fellow Commissioners and Park Board staff for her never-ending support, and the contributions she has made during her years at Cincinnati Parks.

Also during the Park Board meeting, President Otto M. Budig, Jr., tendered his end of term notice effective December 31, 2016. Mr. Budig has served as Park Board Commissioner since January 2004.

Mr. Budig’s term ended in September 2015, and he has been serving under the pleasure of the Mayor until his decision was made regarding reappointment. However; Mr. Budig, who served as President, felt his notice was appropriate due to the bi-laws regarding officers not be eligible to conduct Park Board meetings when their term is expired. Mr. Budig then nominated Dianne Rosenberg as the President, and Robert Anning as Vice President, of the Board of Park Commissioners, which was unanimously approved.

Mr. Budig stated that he is filled with gratitude and enjoyed the celebrations and many accomplishments with the citizens and the Park Board team.